State Qualification for XC
10/17/2020 12:27:20 PM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
Joined: Dec 1969
Posts: 1067
What is the rule if your team finishes 3rd at Districts, but still has 5 in the top 15? Do just those 5 get to advance, or does the whole team move on? Thank you.
What is the rule if your team finishes 3rd at Districts, but still has 5 in the top 15?
Do just those 5 get to advance, or does the whole team move on?

Thank you.
10/17/2020 12:43:23 PM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
Joined: Dec 1969
Posts: 1328
Only the 5.
Only the 5.
10/17/2020 6:56:40 PM
Admin
SUBSCRIBER
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 169
Those 5 do get a team score though
Those 5 do get a team score though
10/17/2020 7:52:54 PM
Coach
Joined: Dec 1969
Posts: 851
[quote=R-Taylor]Those 5 do get a team score though[/quote]If all 5 runners finish ;-)
R-Taylor wrote:
hose 5 do get a team score though
If all 5 runners finish
10/17/2020 8:05:36 PM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
Joined: Dec 1969
Posts: 1328
Yes. Happened last year with Joplin girls in Sectional 3. In the past, a full team could be entered at the next level. However, a few years back the MSHSAA board stopped that over the recommendation of the advisory committee. The CC coach at Warrensburg at that time, Dan Plott, gave the best impassioned speech ever at a committee meeting as to keeping it. Inclusion vs exclusion. But to no avail. Their argument was that in golf, it is possible to move on while not in a guaranteed spot and an alternate was not allowed. Our argument was that in CC, those pushers have an effect on team scores. I will note where it is possible in some other states for this to happen, pushers were not allowed either and in at least one state, you would not get a team score at the next level.
Yes. Happened last year with Joplin girls in Sectional 3.
In the past, a full team could be entered at the next level. However, a few years back the MSHSAA board stopped that over the recommendation of the advisory committee. The CC coach at Warrensburg at that time, Dan Plott, gave the best impassioned speech ever at a committee meeting as to keeping it. Inclusion vs exclusion. But to no avail.
Their argument was that in golf, it is possible to move on while not in a guaranteed spot and an alternate was not allowed. Our argument was that in CC, those pushers have an effect on team scores. I will note where it is possible in some other states for this to happen, pushers were not allowed either and in at least one state, you would not get a team score at the next level.

You must be logged in to comment.

Click Here to Log In.